Call for Papers

13-ICAL – 2015
Thirteenth International Conference on Austronesian Linguistics

18-23 July 2015
Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan

** Please read carefully as some information has changed since our last posting. **


Call for individual papers

The Institute of Linguistics of Academia Sinica will host the 13th International Conference on Austronesian Linguistics, which will take place on July 18-23, 2015. Scholars are invited for 20-minute talks (plus 10 minutes for discussion) on any aspect of language or linguistics specifically related to Austronesian languages.

Submissions are limited to one individual and one joint abstract per author. Abstracts should be single-spaced, 12-point font and limited to two A4 (or US Letter) pages with 1-inch or 2.5-cm margins on all sides (including data, figures, and references). Authors’ names should not appear (on the abstract itself), but the abstract should include a title. Abstracts should be submitted as pdf on the ICAL-13 submission website: Travel grants will be made available to three students whose abstracts have received the highest recommendation. Grant recipients will be required to submit a full version of their paper.

Extended deadline for individual abstract submission:
October 31, 2014

Notification of acceptance for individual abstracts:
January 15, 2015

Full paper due (Student’s grants):
July 1, 2015

Keynote speakers:

 We are happy to have the following keynote speakers.

K. A. Adelaar (Tokyo University of Foreign Studies and University of Melbourne)
Lillian M. Huang (Shih Chien University)
Malcolm Ross (The Australian National University)

Steering Committee:

Wayan Arka (ANU, Canberra/Udayana University, Indonesia)
Isabelle Bril (CNRS, France)
Josephine Daguman (The Philippines)
David Gil (MPI-EVA, Leipzig)
Ritsuko Kikusawa (National Museum of Ethnology, Osaka) 
Marian Klamer (University Centre for Linguistics (LUCL))
Bill Palmer (University of Newcastle, Australia)
Carl Rubino (USA)
Elizabeth Zeitoun (Academia Sinica)

Organizing Committee of 13-ICAL:

Rik De Busser (National Cheng Chi University)
Hui-chuan Huang (Academia Sinica & National Tsing Hua University)

Amy P. Lee (National Dong Hwa University)
Hsiu-chuan Liao (National Tsing Hua University)
Li-May Sung (National Taiwan University)
Apay Tang (National Dong Hwa University)
Stacy F. Teng (Academia Sinica)
Joy J. Wu (National Taiwan Normal University)
Elizabeth Zeitoun (Academia Sinica)

Local and travel information:

The conference will take place at Academia Sinica, in Taiwan’s capital city, Taipei (Nankang district). Please check our conference website for updates:

 Updates will automatically be sent to all members of the AN-LANG list. Any email inquiries can be sent to Elizabeth Zeitoun (

Copyright © 2013 Institute of Linguistics, Academia Sinica.